Confessions of a Sentimentalist

jotting the history; living the moment; dreaming the future

Something and something else.

leave a comment »


You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don’t try.

– Beverly Sills.

Super disappointed. Yes, I failed my driving test yesterday. To be more exact, I FLUNKED it. Did a stupid mistake that cost that whole license. Seriously what happened to my memory hahaha. Was supposed to turn out when the kerb was in line with my shoulder during vertical parking and I started to turn when it was in line with the door handle instead. I even gasped when the car slanted upwards on the kerb. Hais. Now I have to try again. Mom says I can learn more and all, but I think I still need some time to get over that stupid mistake of mine. Ugh. I wonder if my previous instructor will curse and scold when he sees me coming in for practical sessions AGAIN. I hate to disappoint, disappoint myself, and others. But I guess that’s just an unpractical and unrealistic side of me that I must let go a little of.

More sad news. BONGER just told me this noon that my little cutiepie’s really gotten HFMD.  Poor thing. Just days shy of her first birthday and all this shit has to happen? Seriously!

Today’s been a stay-at-home-and-chill-and-try-not-to-think-about-yesterday-day. Watched HBO for the past few hours and seriously it was the highlight of my day. Now I find myself starting to find more awesome old movies to watch. I love the 1982 movie ‘Annie’! Think it was adapted from a really successful broadway musical and all. Love how talented and wonderful the children were, singing and acting. They just put a smile on your face. The other movie was screened in 2004;  ‘Before sunset’ starring Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy. I remembered watching this and the 1995 prequel, ‘Before Sunrise’ on one of the local channels a few years back. They shot the second one 9 years later, which is exactly the same amount of years the protagonists spent apart from each other before they fatefully meet again. ‘Before sunrise’ was shot in Venice while the other was shot in Italy. Beautiful places and scenery throughout the whole film. I like! It’s a really simple concept but filled with deep meanings and quotes. It’s just 2 people walking and talking about life and love and more things. Surprisingly, I liked how simple everything came through! Though it definitely feels a little different compared to the first time I watched it.

Okay, that’s all I want to say for today. School’s starting soon, no matter how I dislike the thought of it happening. A song written and sung by Julie Delpy for the movie (I suppose…) and 2 of my favourite songs from the movie ‘Annie’ to end the post off.

 

I love how soulfully she sings!

 

The sun’ll come out tomorrow

So you got to hang on til tomorrow, come what may!

Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love you, tomorrow

You’re always a day away

 

Remember you’re never fully dressed

Though you may wear the best

You’re never fully dressed without a smile!

Written by GekTeng

April 14, 2012 at 11:43 PM

Leave a Reply

