Confessions of a Sentimentalist

jotting the history; living the moment; dreaming the future

Remember today.

leave a comment »


I can’t begin to say how much I wanted to remember today for the rest of my life. I need to. Because today is the day I step into a brand new stage in the world of early childhood educators.

Okay, people. Today, I had a child MERLION on me.

Puke.

Vomit.

Merlion.

SAME!

WOW.

Although the first thing I had to say was ‘oh shit’, BUT the thought that subconsciously popped to my head was ‘Welcome to the world world of teachers’ ECH teachers, to be more exact. Haha.

The smell on puke has been and still lingering within my surroundings for a while now, but I think it’s just me. But well, what learning experience is called a learning experience without a little drama and funky gross incidents? LOLS! Welcome to reality, self. Taking care of young children doesn’t mean it’s always gonna be full of sunshine and rainbows and unicorns and nyan cats (although most of the time it is 🙂 ). WHAT NYAN CATS??! Okay, maybe barney and sesame street and blues clues. But you get my point.

So I endured the smell and all those yucky stuff that should not be legal to be posted and cleaned up for her. Bathed her while she’s still crying away (hais.), washed her stained clothes AND BOLSTER… I remembered it took forever.

Only then I took care of myself. PHEW.

Well, on a good note, it’s a new and somehow great feeling to put others’ needs before yours; something that I don’t really do often. Or get to do often. Honestly, looking back, I’m pretty amazed that I could actually keep it cool and present a straight face (well not entirely) throughout the whole she-bang. And this, I reminded myself, is something I need to get used to if I were to stay in this field. A disclaimer: I don’t exactly get reminded of this incident with vengence and all, it’s just the gross part of it happening and the cleaning up part that grosses me out, that’s all. A little washing and cleaning and crazy spamming of febreeze and dettol can clear the vomit stains and smell away, no sweat. And to think that I actually survived, I’M REALLY AMAZED! I think I’m off to a great start in this field. hahaha!

I can’t start to tell you how blessed I feel with an awesome group of colleagues and teachers and bosses. Lady boss called up her sister who usually comes around in the late morning to get a clean shirt for me but she was already out by then so she called her husband, who was also one of the founding directors of the preschool to come by with a clean shirt for me so that I can wash and dry my puke-stained shirt ASAP. I thank them with my whole heart and soul. Thinking back, we were also still joking with the staff about how my shirt was limited edition and all.

So, I must remember today. The grossness, the smell and most importantly how and why this incident is a crucial stepping stone for me towards the road of becoming a full-fledged teacher, and it’s also to remind myself that hey, I’ve actually handled this situation pretty well! (in my books, yes, I think for a first-timer puking target like me, I did.)

And you know what, I realised how important it is to be smiling and keeping the positivity around amidst of all the chaos and pow-wow. I remembered telling myself to deal with the mess and be done with it ASAP, and don’t let it affect my mood or the way I shall treat/behave/see children in the future. Seriously, it helps! These reminders help me get over the things and also make the cleaning up process more joyful and happy and memorable. It sounds really wierd right? I KNOW! But yeah, among all the eeky yucky vomit stains and smell, what I remembered more clearly was how aunty and I joked about how this shirt and the ‘design’ is the only kind in the world, and how silly teacher gekteng looked when she did a short ‘fashion show’ in front of the kids waiting in the toilet during shower time. (one child even said she liked my shirt! HAHAHAHAHHAHAA!)

So choose happiness! Even if things don’t go as well as planned, you can still make it a better experience and memory with a positive attitude and a SMILE!

So, remember today, REMEMBER TODAAAAY.

 

“you’re funny.”

“who? who’s funny?”

“you, teacher, you’re funny.”

And sometimes, small and simple moments like these matter the most, and they can fill your heart like a pot full of honey for Winner the Pooh.

 

 

WHAT!!?!

Written by GekTeng

April 5, 2012 at 10:31 PM

Leave a Reply

