Confessions of a Sentimentalist

jotting the history; living the moment; dreaming the future

Almost 20.

with one comment


Yep, today is my 19th birthday OH YEAAAAAAAAAAH!

Well actually we don’t really celebrate birthdays. As in, we give ang paos, sometimes presents, but birthday celebrations aren’t really a hoo haa in my family (like any other events…)

For me too, it’s just like any other day,I guess. When I was young, I was very pentang. Something bad will happen on my birthday, especially when I have birthday celebrations. One year I got caught in between the MRT entrance thingy where the barriers open and closed when you tap your card. And it closed on me. YEEEEAH. Another year my fingers got stuck in between the door of the elevator and I couldn’t pull it out. I remembered trying hard to pull it out but I couldn’t, but I forgot how I got them out. And this can also explain my paranoid-ness regarding lifts and pressing the button before entering and leaving. But I remembered clearly that I hurt my knees when I was 10 while playing captain’s ball during P.E. I remember it was a Thursday.

Mom asked sister to buy a cake home when I came home early today. Was kinda supposed to be celebrating with my ladies tonight but they were kinda busy so we decided to meet next Friday instead. Also, one kid in my attachment centre shared the same birthday as me! Well not the same year of course, their parents bought cake and treated the class and teachers. Me and Hafiza was there on time to grab a piece each too, and it tasted SOOOOOOO GOOD! nyumnyumynum!

Love my friends back in Poly too. They make me smile and smile and smile so much today. The 2 musketeers really surprised me with the whole open-the-book-and-a-card-falls-out-surprise. It was totally not expected and so funny as usual! Yu Zhen was sitting in front of me during tutorial and slowly turned to me and whispered happy birthday, and Sihui came right up to my ear to whisper the same thing as well. Small, simple surprises all day long. LOOOOVE IT! HAHAHA!

Much thanks to my dear BONGER aka Hafiza, she told the 2 other musketeers to send a text to me on the 19th hour on my 19th birthday. And I just went on separate ways with her to go home right after she sent that long ass text to me. SURPRISESURPRISE~~~

Soooooooo my birthday was a peaceful, simple and surprise-filled blast. I feel so blessed. I AM blessed. Thank you everyone for being a part in my life, now I’m gonna go cut the cake my sister bought! (It’s like the first time I remember cutting a birthday cake with my family other than a distant memory I had on my 7th birthday!)

Aal iz well.

Written by GekTeng

January 13, 2012 at 10:11 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Seems a little bit different to my 19th birthday because I don t have a boyfriend after 2 years I always have a boyf on my birthday.

    Julia Simpson turuk

    February 4, 2012 at 5:30 AM


Leave a Reply

