Confessions of a Sentimentalist

jotting the history; living the moment; dreaming the future

Perth: King’s Park!

leave a comment »


State War Memorial

In our 6 short days in Perth, we went to King’s Park twice. The first time was with the tour guide, who only gave us 1 hour to explore the place. Oh, come on, just 1 hour to walk around a park that is larger than Central Park in New York? To be honest the whole walk around the trails and scenery watching thing thing was HECTIC. And it’s not supposed to be! That made me so fed up. The skies were so clear and the warm sun beating on my face accompanied by gentle winds blew and I thought to myself, I can actually stay here the whole freaking day taking my own sweet time to walk around and ENJOY the place instead of consistently checking my watch to make sure we’ll go back to the meeting place on time.

The mere thought of not being able to do things at my own pace just drives me crazy.

And so my aunts decided to make it up to me by going to that place again on Day 5, which is our free day. No guides, no itinerary, nothing. So, yeah, although a part of me thinks we could be going somewhere else instead of visiting the park AGAIN, the weather’s kind of nice and the ducks took their ducklings out to play, so the ungrateful bastard side of me decided to go away and just enjoy the peace and serenity. It was lovely, laying on the grass and seeing ducklings walk pass you occasionally.

I love King’s Park. I love how the birds and the bees and the ducks can roam around the place freely and safely and be around people, who doesn’t seem to be dishevelled or disturbed by the sight of them at all. This environment is shared and every single living or non-living thing belongs here. I love how the spacious fields are so clean and green, and you can just lie down on the soft grass and not worry if you’ll land on something gross and nasty. Surprisingly, given this environment, I don’t even see any cleaners around to for this place to be the way it is. I guess people just have the responsibility in themselves to clean up before they go, because they like how it is and want to maintain the cleanliness. Because it’s their park. Because it’s everyone’s park.

Dear King’s Park, I’ll see you again soon! Wait for me!

Written by GekTeng

October 7, 2011 at 5:23 PM

Leave a Reply

