Confessions of a Sentimentalist

jotting the history; living the moment; dreaming the future

Perth: Food

leave a comment »


Well, Perth has been kind. To my stomach, but not my pocket, sadly. Initially we were actually worried about getting our vegetarian needs met in Perth, but we settled in and the people were kind enough to make special arrangements for us.

Apparently McDonald’s wasn’t the top-selling burgers in Australia, according to my Hongkong guide. It was this name-that-just-slipped-off-my-mind-and-i-can’t-remember-it-suddenly. And a pack of underpacked large macdonald’s fries actually cost me AUS$3! That’s S$3++! But believe me, it’s 100 times crispier and tastier compared to fries in Singapore, I SWEAR.

I love the atmostphere and the people working in the restaurants and eateries there. There’s once we were walking for already more than 30 minutes to find somewhere which sells vegetarian food and we stopped by to ask a waiter if there’s any food suitable for vegetarians and I absolutely love his response; “No, we don’t have that in the menu but I suppose I can do a little magic in the kitchens just for you!” And there you go, dinner supper settled. It turns out that the one running that Italian restaurant married someone who’s a Singaporean and upon knowing that we were tourists from Singapore, he even came up and took our orders himself, gave us complementary dishes and extra large servings! And the food was DELISH I tell you!

Some highlights:

*Note: This is not the fries from MacDonald's I mentioned;)

 

My 1st plate of yummy Gnocchi

Written by GekTeng

October 5, 2011 at 6:34 PM

Leave a Reply

