Confessions of a Sentimentalist

jotting the history; living the moment; dreaming the future

the thing with travelling and vacations

leave a comment »


I FREAKING WANNA GO FOR A DAMN HOLIDAY OUT OF SINGAPORE!

It’s so frustrating. I just want to make a random out-of-the-spur decision to book the latest flight to somewhere. ANYWHERE. And just roam about. With my camera. Enough food. And of course MONEY.

I’ve been wanting to holiday for a really long time now, and please, not tours. I hate tours, to be very honest. I want to explore based on what I am interested in, and without any plans, routines, datelines and irritating morning calls to stress about when I’m vacationing. I want to shop when I want to, and stop whenever I want to. I don’t want a damn timetable to follow. Imagine if you’re given 1 hour to shop vivo city? INSANE.

I want to just see and feel the real life of living in the environment with natives, and not to go to tourist spots and attractions. That’s all so fake. I wanna see the real thing. How people live. What do they do after work. Do shops close at 5PM everyday or 24/7? Where do locals go frequently? What do they do? Do they hang their clothes outside in bamboo sticks?

I want to just go somewhere, take a public transport, listen to what people talk about, alight at some random stops, see a random diner and get food, see a random decent looking hotel/motel and stay a night. Then go out to explore again. I want a free, no boundaries, no expectations or limits, I WANT THE REAL THING.

Going/planning with aunts. Conservative aunts who ALWAYS go on tour and throw their money to agencies to have them settle everything. NOT GOOD. I don’t feel very encouraged, or even excited to go out anymore. They keep saying, “You think it’s that easy?” Oh, come on, try and I’ll know! I want a life with risks, and opportunities. To get lost. And find my way again. and get lost again. And maybe find some friends and get to know new people.

Am I really sounding over-confident about this whole go-with-the-flow approach to travelling?

I don’t know, maybe I will one day, when I pick up enough guts to leave and also enough money to spend and support my travelling plans. But it’s really frustrating that they are holding me back and belittling my plans? I mean, hello, people are doing this everywhere, get on a plane to anywhere in the world and just EXPLORE FREELY.

The world has so much to offer. I have so much to learn and know. I want to experience and see things from different perspectives and appreciate what the world has to offer. And most importantly, I’m so young, I wanna do all these when I still have the energy and ability to do so.

And I feel so held back by my family’s need to protect and reluctance to a laidback kind of trip where you just go last minute.

But then again.

Oh well.

I just wanna travel the world. Freely. Go wherever I want, Wherever anything takes me to.

I don’t know, but it’s not a good feeling when you know you can do and experience much more, but you’re just tied to something that refuses to let go.

You understand?

Written by GekTeng

August 21, 2011 at 1:00 AM

Leave a Reply

