Confessions of a Sentimentalist

jotting the history; living the moment; dreaming the future

Glimpse of the past.

leave a comment »


A week ago I went to walk on the KTM railway tracks that will be dismantled and returned back to Malaysia. It’s kinda a bittersweet thing seeing my grandpa walking along the tracks and looking at little little things around, deep in thought. Well and of course I did take pictures. This should be one of the things that have stayed on and accompanied Singapore as it grew and flourshed and changed. The Padang stadium is gonna be gone soon(or has it already been destroyed?), and now this place that is history rich will also have to make way for further advancements of Singapore.

I wonder who is the one who decides which things to keep, and which to ‘sacrifice’. How do they make decisions like these? What are the things they consider before making a final decision? I would really like to know about it, to be honest. I just feel they are taking away and destroying parts of Singapore’s history. It’s kind of sad, thinking that the next generation would not be able to see these historical monuments(?) and places of Singapore just because it is too small and if they don’t make way there will be no land for more skyscapers and development.

But I really do hope they keep at least a small portion of the tracks… just like the Berlin Wall in Germany? They actually did keep a part of it right? If it carries so much meaning to the folks and the developing country, wouldn’t it be an awesome sight to still see something significant from the past as the country grow?

Oh my, I think I should just carry on with the pictures. I don’t think I know what I’m saying either. Sometimes I feel I suck at expressing my feelings. Ugh.

And here’s to national day related things trending on twitter WORLDWIDE! HAPPY BIRTHDAY SINGAPORE I LOVE YOU NO MATTER WHAT! (even if you really removed ALL the tracks.)

Leave a Reply

