Confessions of a Sentimentalist

jotting the history; living the moment; dreaming the future

Close Ups: Kawai

with 2 comments


Okay, I guess I didn’t post about the tragic day when I bought a wide angle and macro lens filter. I called the day tragic because I regretted my purchase almost immediately. Well I thought it will be a nice tool to help me try shooting macro, but patience is one thing I lack and am still working on. But what can I do then. To make sure I don’t waste the money I eventually researched about macro photography and decided to set up my good ol’ tripod and Nikon to give it a try. Not forgetting the macro filter though!

Setting my camera to Manual and hiking my aperture value to f/11-ish, and not to forget the crucial element that is producing these shots below and that helps me train my patience/waiting time is the shutter speed of 3s-ish. Boy, oh boy, it’s not just one click and you get it, but it’s after various angles, shifts, zooms, focusing and refocusing and re-re-re focusing before you get that perfect shot. I literally lie back in bed(which is just in front of my piano actually.) during these precious moments when my camera worked its magic.

And poof! Here it is, my wonderful companion and music friend, ‘teacher’, buddy, whatever you call it. Let’s see if you can see how dusty my piano is after abandoning it for a few months weeks.

I actually wanted to shoot more, although the experience left me sweating and all that I kind of decided that Macro photography is fun! With a tripod though. I tried once without ANY tips or anything related to macro and I got shitty shots. I guess you can tell that’s when I started to regret the purchase. But oh well, this opportunity of trying new things eventually made me learn something!

Gonna try this again tomorrow or the next day. Macro shots just makes every little thing look so amazingly… not themselves. Haha!

Written by GekTeng

March 14, 2011 at 12:54 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice macro pictures…

    Musnanda

    March 20, 2011 at 4:48 PM


Leave a Reply

