Confessions of a Sentimentalist

jotting the history; living the moment; dreaming the future

Doubts and Directions

with 3 comments


Lately I’ve been thinking. And thinking. Is it really best for me to squeeze a photo everyday to post? Am I really benefitting from this experience of shooting everyday? Or has it already gradually becoming an everyday-task to me that I’m slowly losing focus and attention on?

I think I’m not doing well with this 365 project already. It’s not tiresome to take a photo and post it everyday, the problem is, I think I’m slowly becoming a slave to this thing. I want to deliver good pictures, and not just random shots I take just for the photo of the day. Somehow I feel the quality of my photographsdoes not my standards anymore; shots that I’m proud of. Shots that I want to show off to the world. I don’t have that kind of feeling anymore. Am I just passing time and treating this like any other assignments or project? I think I need to think seriously about this.

And I need to be more serious in the things I do here.

It’s either I improve my quality of work by decreasing my output (which means ditching the postaday2011/project 365), or to slowly get my mojo back and post pictures that I myself think are worthy for the eyes of others?

Shooting everyday seems an easy task, but shooting without aims or, sadly to say, the heart to do it? I don’t think I want to continue if this is what has become of me after 2 months into the project. Through the pictures, sometimes I see myself losing focus and insight. Hell, I don’t even want people to see some of my pictures I posted, to be honest.

What are some directions that people take when they operate their photo blogs? A picture a day, or photo sets that you post anytime you like? What I know currently is that I’m feeling more towards the latter.

What is the most important thing to me towards managing my photo blog? This I know now: Delivering pictures that I, MYSELF, like and am proud of, and not just sub-standard shots that are posted just to pass time and abide to my project.

I need time to think about this. BIG TIME.

Written by GekTeng

February 27, 2011 at 3:53 PM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello! This is my first time visiting (found your blog on the wordpress photography tag page). I once tried to do a 365 project, and I ended up quitting after a few weeks. At the end of it all, I realized that I was starting to FORCE my photography just to meet the one photo a day requirement. I wasn’t very happy with the photographs that I was creating. At the end of the day, you gotta be proud of the product that you’re putting out there. If the 365 project is transforming your photography into something else, then maybe it’s time to switch things up. Good luck with everything!

    photoshtuff

    February 27, 2011 at 5:42 PM

  2. I have found that people who force themselves to shoot every day usually produce a lot of crappy photos. I believe in shooting when your creativity is sparking and posting when you have images that you really want to share. In the end quality beats quantity every time. Just my two cents.

    Mike

    February 27, 2011 at 5:54 PM

  3. Thank you, photoshtuff and Mike! I’m glad someone understands how I feel towards this project. I admit that sometimes I feel FORCED to do shoot and post a picture a day, and not shoot because I want to or feel like it, and that’s kind of bad huh?

    Well, I think I’ve somewhat made up my mind already. Projects like these just aren’t things for someone like me, sadly.

    Really appreciate it and cool blogs you have there too! Will try to browse more when I have the time too! Thanks again!

    BANGgekteng

    February 28, 2011 at 12:36 AM


Leave a Reply

