Confessions of a Sentimentalist

jotting the history; living the moment; dreaming the future

Farewell.

leave a comment »


Here’s the thing I don’t like about tertiery education: the lack of a warm relationship between the lecturers and the students. If only teachers and students were more close to each other like how we used to be in secondary school. Now we just see each other for a semester for a module and then they are just gone with the wind. This, I don’t like.

But nonetheless it’s the last week of the second semester – first year is coming to an end. Well, all good things come to an end, don’t they? And bad things as well of course. But being a sentimental person, sigh, I just can’t help but feel a tinge of sadness. Farewells are good in a way too. I don’t know if the fact that my lecturers are also past teachers from the early childhood sector helps, but they are always giving out presents. We have small litttle Christmas gifts, angpaos for Chinese new year and all. I wouldn’t be surpirsed some will give us farewell gifts! It turned out that I was right. To be honest, this came from the lecturers I paid the most less amount of attention to. Ah, a student is a student afterall. But it was so sweet of them to give us stickers and markers for our future practicums. Such a well thought gift.

perfect gift for student-teachers like us!

Mrs Tian who is a funny and organised lecturer had videos most of the time for the last lecture. I remembered for her last video to the Year 1s there was this quote that said something like, don’t be sad that good things are coming to an end, but be grateful that it actually happened. I think I need to get this in my head and don’t be such a sentimental fool.

Ah well, I’d better enjoy the last few moments of my Year 1, EVERYONE said that Year 2 is gonna be tough. EVERYONE SAID THAT. For me, let’s just live in the moment and hope for the best.

Written by GekTeng

February 16, 2011 at 9:58 PM

Leave a Reply

